Indeed…

Like yesterday when here in Edinburgh the weather changed more times than Prince changed his clothes during the full run of a concert tour and, yes it snowed. In April.

When the news that Prince had died reached me I was sitting at my in-laws. My mother-in-law broke the news to everyone in the room and my first reaction was that it was an attempt to wind me up.

I’ve been a fan of Prince since I was a teenager. Something about his style of music struck a chord with me and I spent all my pocket from my milk delivery job on buying all his albums on cassette tape.

For all you young bods out there that haven’t known music to be stored on a cassette tape you’ve never lived until you’ve sat with a pencil and patiently wound the tape back onto the reel after the tape player attempted to chew it up. There is an almost Zen like calm required to wind the tape back onto the spool. Failure to enter this state of calm ALWAYS resulted in a ruined tape and a little sister or brother, or indeed yourself, being stabbed with a pencil.

Cassette pencil
The good old days.

I went to see prince live at Meadowbank Stadium in Edinburgh during his Lovesexy tour and never have I ever seen a show like it. From the first note to the last the music swept me up like a tsunami and blew my socks off.

I’m not, nor will I ever be, a person who dances. I occasionally shuffle around in the house if my wife is out and all the curtains are shut but in public I have never deliberately danced. If I ever went to a club I did what any self respecting man does; Sat, Sweated and Swore.

But on that day I danced like a native american Shamen with St Vitus’ disease off his tits on MDMA. Shapes were thrown. I was possessed by the music and happily shook both what my mother gave me and my love thang. God only knows what I must have looked like and may the lord pity anyone who saw it but I have no doubt in my mind that on that day I was a whirling dervish of a man.

In the later years of his career my taste in music changed and I only listened to Prince occasionally but his music was never far away. Nor were the memories of seeing him live.

It’s such a shame we didn’t get to see him continue for another 30 years.

 

 

