Education

Like Albert Einstein says in the above quote we’re all geniuses in one way or another but for some strange and unfathomable reason the SQA thinks if you can’t do mathematics you shouldn’t be allowed to become anything above a Mcdonalds team member.

As regular readers of this blog know I’m currently studying to become a Web Designer and in order to do so I started attending Edinburgh College in August of last year. I have in the past dabbled in HTML and CSS and although I didn’t learn much beyond how to add widgets and how to bugger about with code to make those widgets do what I wanted them to do I did have an interest in HTML and web design seemed like a good thing to get into.

So, having decided I want to get into web design as a career I signed up to do an HND in Web Design but due to my lack of qualifications from secondary (High school for all you yanks out there) I was woefully under qualified to get into the HND course.

The college contacted me and recommended I go into a course that gave me the necessary qualifications and led onto the HND after a year of study. OK, I thought. Whatever it takes.

So here I am, a month into my second semester and I’ve found out that one of the subjects, Maths, is a core subject. Meaning that if I fail it I fail the whole course.

And therein lies my problem.

When I was at primary school (back in the late 1970’s) I was diagnosed as being dyslexic and throughout the whole of my primary and secondary schooling I was put into classes that were, how can I put it? Remedial? Maybe… Anyhow, the classes I had were never going to get me a job in rocket science and at the time I was OK with that.

So here I am thirty years later trying to train to do Web Design and I’m pretty much SOOL1 and JWF2 when it comes to Pythagorean Theory, working out co-ordinates of a straight line, Trigonometry, Algebra and all the other guff that is included in the mathematics class.

And what pisses me off is that I’m pretty certain that I have no need for these things in web design. And if I do need them I’ll do what any other person with half a brain and access to the net will do. I’ll LOOK IT UP ON GOOGLE.

But no. That’s not good enough. I have to be able to do it or I’m going to have wasted a whole year of my life trying to improve my lot in life only to fail because I can’t work out the circumference of a circle or plot the co-ordinates of a straight line or do complicated maths the likes of which I would actually need if I was looking to become a civil engineer.

Which, by the way, I have no intention of ever doing.

1 Shit Out Of Luck.

2 Jolly Well Fucked.

