Hasn’t changed much since the last time it appeared out of the mists of time like some council house version of Brigadoon. The bookies is indeed a run down Coral and the dominant wildlife is still the shaking dog.

I did however see a badger throw itself under the wheels of a passing truck in a desperate attempt to stop having to eat the half finished Fray Bentos “steak and kidney” pies that the locals think is an upmarket Sunday lunch. A quick death under the wheels of a big rig is a far better thing in the mind of an MSG riddled badger than a heart attack brought on by Aldi’s bargain burgers. I’m sure I could see the look of acceptance in the badgers eyes as it came into contact with the truck bumper.

It was the same look I had on my face as we pulled into the carpark of the Chinese restaurant…

